Article – Gina Rinehart wins Chairperson of the Year award

28 November 2014
Cole Latimer
Australian Mining
Gina Rinehart has won CEO Magazine’s Chairperson of the Year award for the second year running.
She took out the gong at the third Executive of the Year Awards, held last night in Sydney.
Upon taking the stage Rinehart said she accepted it “on behalf of my small, hard working executive team and the many thousands of men and women working in the challenging Australian outback, including those who are building our mega mining project Roy Hill ahead of schedule”.
Speaking on her win, head and founder of CEO Magazine, Chris Dutton, said: “As chair of Hancock Prospecting and Roy Hill Holdings, Mrs Rinehart is persistent, determined, tireless, and patriotic.”
“This year, Roy Hill was able to secure the largest ever project financing for the development of a land-based mine anywhere in the world. The Roy Hill mine is symbolic of this ‘against the tide’ attitude.
“Her leadership qualities have attracted a committed and passionate team around her and ensured strong and successful negotiations of joint ventures and partnerships.”
Rinehart was also presented with the Australian Olympic Committee’s Order of Merit for her support of swimming and volleyball, as well as a Lifetime Achievement award from the Chartered Institute of Logistics and Transport.
The head of the Australian Radio Network, Ciaran Davis, took out the CEO of the Year award, whilst another miner, Raliegh John Finlayson – the MD for Saracen Minerals, won the Managing Director of the Year and the Energy and Resources Executive of the Year awards.
Fellow Roy Hills executive Garry Korte won the CFO of the Year award for his handling of the aforementioned finance package delivery for the Roy Hill mine.
“The Roy Hill debt-funding package was delivered at low cost and within a record timeframe,” CEO Magazine stated.
“This, together withe the shareholders’ equity investment was enabled the development of a project which will employ about 4000 people during construction, create some 2000 permanent jobs over the 20 year mine life, boost the local economy, and contribute significant royalty and tax payments to the WA state and Australian governments.”
CIO of the Year went to Ausenco’s Paul Young, who led the contractor’s roll-out of its Oracle e-business, and instituted new ICT strategies and policies within the company.
Bell Bay Alumininum smelter general manager Ray Mostogl won the Manufacturing Executive of the Year for his leadership at the Tasmanian smelter, helping to transform it from a loss-making operation in 2011 and 2012, to achieving savings of $90 million over two years, making the business cash positive by mid-2014.
Gina Rinehart wins Chairperson of the Year award

Courtesy of Australian Mining