Article – WA towns in loan scheme

3 May 2016
Phoebe Wearne

The West Australian

The Federal Government has capitulated to a campaign to include key WA towns in its definition of northern Australia.

Gascoyne councils and the Gascoyne Development Commission wrote to Federal MPs to protest against their region’s exclusion from the definition, which favoured the Northern Territory and Queensland.

The gas-rich city of Gladstone in Queensland and the entire NT were included, despite being below the Tropic of Capricorn, while the WA towns of Carnarvon, Coral Bay, Denham and surrounding areas were not. Being included in the legislative definition is a precondition for being considered for a $5 billion loan scheme for infrastructure.

The Government’s amendment to the Northern Australia Infrastructure Facility Bill includes all areas above the Tropic of Capricorn in WA, as well as Carnarvon, Meekatharra and Wiluna.

Courtesy of the West Australian

Popular Posts

Roads investment to open up major gas project in the Northern Territory
Drilling deep for support
Gina Rinehart ushered into miners’ Hall of Fame
Surging iron ore drives Australia to trade surplus
Change for Agriculture | We are calling on all those who work within the Australian Agriculture industry.
‘Anger growing’ over Fraser Island bushfire bungle | Red tape hits fireys
Gina Urges Rural Voices To Speak Up
Denham renewable hydrogen microgrid an Australian-first
Become The Voice of The North

Voice of the North

Be Heard